Sporting Achievements recognised at Eastleigh Sports Awards

The superb sporting achievements of talented local people were recognised at the ninth annual Eastleigh Sports Awards held at the prestigious ballroom at the four-star hotel, Hilton at the Ageas Bowl.

The ceremony provided the opportunity to celebrate individual excellence, team achievement, as well as recognising those people who work tirelessly ‘behind the scenes’ to support local talent and provide opportunities for residents to lead an active lifestyle across the borough. The awards evening was organised by Eastleigh’s Sport and Physical Activity Alliance (SPAA).

Lou Gittens, Chair of the Eastleigh SPAA, and ex-Saint Francis Benali, the Alliance’s Official Ambassador was the guest speaker, which was compered by former Hampshire cricketer and BBC Radio Solent presenter, Kevan James.

Lou Gittens, Chair of Eastleigh SPAA said:

‘It’s great to celebrate such a wide range of sporting talent in the borough. We have so many talented sports people together with so many superb volunteers, officials and coaches. Without them we would not be able to produce such fantastic stars in the borough.’

There was also a special recognition award for Olympic Gold Medalist Dani Rowe (formerly King) from Hamble following her recent retirement from cycling.

Winners of the Eastleigh Sports Awards 2018

Junior Sportsperson – Taylor Bevan, Boxing
Senior Sportsperson – Kelly Simm, Gymnastics
Disability Senior Sportsperson – David Smith (MBE), Boccia
Disability Junior Sportsperson – Jenna Maunder, Multiple Sports
Sports Team of the Year – Team Solent Kestrels U14 Boys,
Basketball Volunteer of the Year – Mike Jarvie, Triathlon
Coach of the Year (2 awards) – Luke Hampton, Football:
Keith Richardson, Gymnastics
Official of the Year – Yasmin Lavery-Stammers, Trampolining
Sports Club of the Year – Ravens Netball Club
Outstanding Personal Achievement – Maisie Stocks, Cycling
Service to Sport – Susan Perrin, Disability Sport
Project of the Year – Hamble Walking Netball
Secondary School of the Year – The Toynbee School
Primary School of the Year – Freegrounds Junior School