New Years Honours for local heroes


A Head Teacher from Eastleigh and a volunteer at Hamble Lifeboat station are among 25 people from Hampshire who have been honoured in the 2022 New Years Honours List for their contribution to our community and country.

Amanda Parry is Executive Headteacher of Tanners Brook and Portswood Primary schools and Deputy Chief Executive Officer, HISP MAT and Executive Director of the LEARN Teaching School Alliance. She becomes an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for her services to education.

Stephen Emery volunteered to crew the Hamble Lifeboat in 1996 and spent 19 years as Coxswain before becoming Lifeboat Operations Manager. For his long service to maritime safety, Stephen also receives an OBE.

Other local people who have been honoured with an OBE include the Vice-Chancellor of Portsmouth University, Professor Graham Galbraith and the recent Principal of Sparsholt College, Tim Jackson.

Hotelier Robin Hutson who co-founded the Hotel Du Vin chain in Winchester in 1994 is another local OBE recipient.

Eastleigh’s local heroes join National figures from sport, medicine and entertainment in being recognised in the 2020 New Years Honours list – including married, multiple medal-winning Olympians Laura and Jason Kenny who receive a damehood and knighthood for their services to cycling.

Following her outstanding US Open win, tennis player Emma Radacanu receives an MBE to go with her award as BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

For their part in battling COVID-19, knighthoods go to the Chief Medical Officer for England Professor Chris Whitty, Chief Government Scientific Adviser Sir Patrick Vallance, and Deputy Medical Officers for England Dr Jenny Harries and Professor Jonathan Van-Tam.

Damehoods are given to actor and National Treasure Joanna Lumley and film legend Vanessa Redgrave for their services to drama, entertainment and charity.

In addition to the honours chosen by the Cabinet Office, separately the Queen has chosen to appoint former Prime Minister Tony Blair as a Knight Companion of the Order of the Garter – the oldest and highest order of chivalry in the UK.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said:

These recipients have inspired and entertained us and given so much to their communities in the UK or in many cases around the world.

The honours are an opportunity for us to thank them, as a country, for their dedication and outstanding contribution.

A full list of all honours and recipents can be found here .

Of the 1,278 people who have received an award 25 are from Hampshire and are as follows:

Order of the Bath

Companion of the order

Joanna Rowland, Fareham, Director General, HM Revenue and Customs.

For services to the Economy during Covid-19

Order of the British Empire

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Graham Galbraith, Vice-Chancellor, University of Portsmouth.

For services to Higher Education.

Stephen Park OBE,  Fareham, Performance Director, British Cycling.

For services to Cycling

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Owen Abbott, Fareham, Head, Census and Population Statistics Methodology, Office for National Statistics.

For services to Census and Population Statistics.

Henrietta Brown, Swanwick, Business Operations Lead,Office for National Statistics.

For services to the Census of England and Wales.

Simon French, Fleet, Chief Inspector of the Rail Accident Investigation Branch.

For services to Railway Safety.

Robin Hutson, Winchester,

For services to the Hospitality Industry and Philanthropy.

Timothy Jackson, Winchester, Lately Principal, Sparsholt College and Andover College.

For services to Further Education.

Dr Alexander Lambert, Southampton, Deputy Director, Covid Infection Survey Operations, Office for National Statistics.

For services to Statistics and Public Health.

Amanda Parry, Eastleigh

Deputy Chief Executive Officer, HISP MAT and Executive Director, LEARN Teaching School Alliance, Hampshire.

For services to Education.

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Christine Chisholm, Romsey, Founder Trustee, New Jumbulance Travel Trust.

For services to Philanthropy and Charitable Causes.

Howard Clarke, Liss, Research Director, Morgan Innovation and Technology.

For services to Business and Entreprenership.

Susan Clarke, Liss, Managing Director, Morgan Innovation and Technology.

For services to Business and Engineering.

Sonja Huxham, Winchester, Basic Skills Development Manager, Army Training Regiment.

For services to Military Education.

Janet Lefley, Community Manager, The Romsey School.

For services to Education

Arron Maspero, Fareham, Programme Delivery Manager,Census Field Devices, Office for National Statistics.

For services to Census 2021 Field Operations.

Susan Parish, Havant, Business and Community Manager,Park Community School,

For services to Education.

Aaron Phipps, Southampton

For services to Wheelchair Rugby.

Mark Robinson, Southampton, Olympic Performance Manager, Royal Yachting Association.

For services to Sailing.

Lauren Steadman, Portsmouth

For services to Triathlon.

Medal of the Order of the British Empire

Dorothy Bone, Emsworth,Honorary Secretary, Emsworth Maritime and Historical Trust and Honorary Minute Secretary, Emsworth Stroke Club.

For voluntary services to the community in Emsworth

Sharron De Abreu Faria, Clanfied, Director of Art and Hospitality, The Right to Work CIC.

For services to Supported Volunteers and Artists with Learning Disabilities particularly during Covid-19.

Stephen Emery, Havant, Volunteer, Coxswain and Trustee, Hamble Lifeboat.

For services to Maritime Safety.

Nigel Huxtable,Southsea, Lately Assistant General Secretary, Royal Naval Association.

For services to Royal Navy Veterans.

Alice Jackson, Andover

For services to the community in Lower Chute, Hampshire during Covid-19.