New cabinet posts revealed

Following the recent local elections, new cabinet members for Eastleigh Borough Council have been announced. Councillor Paul Bicknell (Eastleigh South) has been promoted to Deputy Leader replacing the long-serving Anne Winstanley who lost her Bishopstoke ward seat to an Independent candidate.

Ian Corben (Hedge End North) and Tina Campbell (Eastleigh Central) join the cabinet to replace Winstanley and Alan Broadhurst (Chandler’s Ford) who has stepped down.

Campbell’s appointment means there are still two women sitting in the eight seat cabinet but the departure of Winstanley has left the powerful decision-making committee with no representatives from the Bishopstoke, Fair Oak and Horton Heath local area committee while Broadhurst had been the only representative from Chandler’s Ford.

In a statement released by Eastleigh Borough Council, Cllr Campbell said:

“I’m really looking forward to my new role and excited about helping to create a thriving community with opportunities for everyone to help fulfil their potential.”

While in the same statement Cllr Corben is reported to have said:

“I am delighted to be appointed to the Cabinet of this high performing and successful Council and getting involved with regenerating our towns and parishes and helping to find ways of improving what is already a fantastic place to live and work. In particular, I will be supporting a range of exciting projects such as the completion of Hamble’s new library and the Itchen Valley Country Park’s extended café restaurant.”

Council Leader Keith House added:

“Tina and Ian are great additions to the Cabinet and will both bring a wealth of experience to their portfolio areas.  We have a great team who will provide lots of ideas and enthusiasm to their Cabinet roles as the Council continues to protect its main services and deliver new community facilities.”

In 2010 Eastleigh Borough Council adopted the current ‘Leader and Cabinet Executive’ style of administration following a public consultation that elicited 13 responses – the majority of which opposed the arrangements. Under these arrangements the ruling party elect a leader and then the leader is at liberty to select between two and nine members in addition to him/herself to cover portfolios as selected by the leader.

In order to reflect the special responsibilities that come with a cabinet post all members receive an additional annual allowance of £7,910 on top of their basic members allowance of £6,229 , except that is, for the Deputy Leader who gets an extra £9,212 and the Leader who gets £19,926.

Monday night (May 14) sees a new Mayor and Deputy Mayor elected – it was due to be the former Councillor for Eastleigh North Chris Thomas but the long serving member lost his seat to a Liberal Democrat in the local elections after he contested it as an Independent.

The full list of new Cabinet portfolio roles is as follows:

Leader & Planning:                                                        Keith House

Regeneration (north) & Deputy Leader:                     Paul Bicknell

Regeneration (south):                                                   Ian Corben

Economy:                                                                       Derek Pretty

Health Team – Health:                                                  Tonia Craig

Health Team – Social Policy:                                        Tina Campbell

Environment Team – Environment:                              Rupert Kyrle

Environment Team – Transport:                                   David Airey