Eastleigh candidates announced for parliamentary and Local elections

polling station eastleigh

Eastleigh’s candidates for the General Election and local Elections on May 7 have been announced.

The following candidates paid their deposits into the Council yesterday and will be hoping to collect them back on May 8.

Declan Clune – TUSC

Mark Latham- Labour

Mike Thornton – Liberal Democrat

Mims Davies – Conservative

Patricia Culligan – Ukip

Ray Hall – Beer, Baccy and Scratchings

Ron Meldrum – Green

Lib Dem Mike Thornton will be trying to reclaim the seat he took in 2013 after Chris Huhne resigned following his guilty plea to perverting the course of Justice.

Less than 2,000 votes separated Thornton from Ukip and the seat is regarded as a three way marginal between the LibDems, Ukip and the Conservatives but a reinvigorated local Labour party is campaigning hard to cause an upset.

With the majority being as tight as 500 votes in 2005, support for the minor parties could be decisive in determining the overall outcome

Apart from Thornton, the only other candidate from 2013 is Ray Hall whose party ‘Beer, Baccy and Crumpet party” was deemed too rude for 2015 and has now been re named “Beer,Baccy and Scratchings”.

In the by-election Ray Hall finished 7th with 235 votes.

Hall and Thornton join Labour candidate Mark Latham as Eastleigh residents – the other candidates are all registered to addresses located outside the constituency although Conservative Mims Davies has told Eastleigh News she is renting a house in Bursledon for the duration of the campaign and will permanantely move there if successful.

TUSC previously stood in Eastleigh in the 2013 by-election when they polled 62 votes and this will be only the second time the Green party have fielded a candidate since 2001.

May 7 is also scheduled for Parish, Town and Borough Elections – although the Borough votes will not be counted until May 8.

Tellers will spared the bother of totting up votes for both Fair Oak and Horton Heath Parish Council and Hedge End Town Council as the wards are uncontested – all candidates who put their names forward are unopposed and assume their seats by default – there will be no election.

As a result three wards in Hedge End will see a total of nine Lib Dems, including local Lib Dem leader Keith House, returned to Hedge End Town Council .

The wards are Freegrounds, Grange Park East and Shamblehurst.

Twelve seats on Fair Oak and Horton Heath Parish council were also uncontested – there will be no election there either.

Two of the seats have taken by Labour, one by Ukip, one independent and the remaining eight are Lib Dem.

A third of the Borough wards are being contested in the following wards:

Bishopstoke East

Bishopstoke West

Bursledon and Old Netley

Eastleigh Central

Eastleigh North

Eastleigh South

Fair Oak

Hamble and Butlocks Heath

Hedge End Grange Park

Hedge End St Johns

Hedge End Wildern

Netley Abbey

West End North

West End South

The Conservatives, Lib Dems, Labour and UKIP are contesting every available seat in the Borough.

The Green party are contesting seven seats both the Bishopstoke Wards, all three wards in Eastleigh town plus seats in Fair Oak and Hedge End St John.

Anti-austerity party the Trades Union and Socialist Coalition (TUSC) are standing in two wards Eastleigh North and Eastleigh South.

There is one independent standing, Keith Day – who currently sits as an Independent councilor on Hedge End Town Council.

He is hoping to win back the Hedge End Wildern seat he has previously held as a Liberal Democrat.

Liberal Democrats currently hold 40 of the 44 council seats means they are defending all 14 up for grabs this time round – the size of their majority on the council means that it is not possible for them to lose control of Eastleigh Borough Council as a result of this election, no matter what the result.

All the wards are being contested by the incumbent Lib Dem Councillor but for a few exceptions.

In Bishopstoke West, Mike Thornton, who is hoping to be re-elected as Eastleigh’s MP, has given up his seat making good a promise he made in 2013

Should Thornton fail to become MP again he will still be in local politics as he currently holds a seat on Bishopstoke Parish Council.

Luke McNulty is retiring from his seat in Netley Abbey as is Peter Wall in Eastleigh North.

David Goodall is retiring from West End South and is standing on the Isle of Wight as Lib Dem parliamentary candidate.

There are no Borough seats being contested in Chandler’s Ford and Hiltingbury this year – all four Hiltingbury seats are held by the Conservatives who form the opposition on Eastleigh Borough Council.

A boundary anomaly means that most of Hiltingbury- along with a swathe of Chandler’s Ford – form a vital part of the Winchester parliamentary constituency, even though they are in the Borough of Eastleigh.

Long time Hiltingbury residents will have previously voted as part of the Romsey constituency and Eastleigh constituency.

The Candidates for the Winchester and Chandler’s Ford parliamentary seat are as follows:

Steve Brine – Conservative

Jackie Porter –Lib Dem

Mark Chaloner- Labour

Martin Lyon –Ukip

Michael Wilks – Green

Hustings, which are a chance for voters to hear Candidates debate in Public will be held for Eastleigh candidates on April 29 at Hedge End Kings Community Church on Upper Northam Road at 7.30 pm.

Hustings for Winchester and Chandler’s Ford Candidates will be held on 22 April 2015 at the Chandler’s Ford Methodist Church on Winchester Rd, and that also starts at 7.30 pm.

Full list of candidates details for Eastleigh on council website 

  2 comments for “Eastleigh candidates announced for parliamentary and Local elections

Comments are closed.